Minggu, 26 Juni 2011

Taj Mahal is regarded as one of the eight wonders of the world. It was built by
a Muslim Emperor Shah Jahan in the memory of his dear wife at Agra.
Taj Mahal is a Mausoleum that houses the grave of queen Mumtaz Mahal. The mausol
eum is a part of a vast complex comprising of a main gateway, an elaborate garde
n, a mosque (to the left), a guest house (to the right), and several other palat
ial buildings. The Taj is at the farthest end of this complex, with the river Ja
muna behind it.
The Taj stands on a raised, square platform (186 x 186 feet) with its four corne
rs truncated, forming an unequal octagon. The architectural design uses the inte
rlocking arabesque concept, in which each element stands on its own and perfectl
y integrates with the main structure. It uses the principles of self-replicating
geometry and a symmetry of architectural elements.
Its central dome is fifty-eight feet in diameter and rises to a height of 213 fe
et. It is flanked by four subsidiary domed chambers. The four graceful, slender
minarets are 162.5 feet each. The central domed chamber and four adjoining chamb
ers include many walls and panels of Islamic decoration.
Taj Mahal is built entirely of white marble. Its stunning architectural beauty i
s beyond adequate description, particularly at dawn and sunset. The Taj seems to
glow in the light of the full moon. On a foggy morning, the visitors experience
the Taj as if suspended when viewed from across the Jamuna river.

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar